Catholic leadership concerned that Obamacare will lead to federal funding of abortions

America’s Catholic leadership is becoming increasingly concerned that the legislation will lead to federal funding of abortions.
The implications of government-controlled health care would have serious implications for Catholic health institutions. One in eight hospitals in the U.S. are affiliated with the Catholic Church, according to the Wall Street Journal. They employ 750,000 people and care for 16 percent of all hospital admissions.

If government bureaucrats or the courts mandated abortion coverage, it could place the nation’s Catholic hospitals into a difficult situation. Some Catholic leaders have threatened to close their facilities if they were forced to conduct abortion procedures.

If Democratic healthcare reform becomes law, it will engender the “largest largest expansion of abortion in the United States since Roe v. Wade,” said Rep. Trent Franks, R-Ariz. Read More

Our tax money will fund abortions and I for one do not think I should pay for someone else to have an abortion.

LINKS:

(1) Overflow crowd at Maryland town hall

3 comments on “Catholic leadership concerned that Obamacare will lead to federal funding of abortions

  1. I absolutely agree with you!!! I shouldn’t have to pay for even MORE abortions. In California, abortion clinics have Family Pact Act, fill out a form, state pays (taxpayer funded) no problem. But these clinics don’t have the time to verify ages of minors and report child rapists(which is mandatory). The quality of care in these places is awful. A 12 year old can excuse themselves from school for a ‘confidential medical procedure’ have her adult boyfriend/rapist drive her to the clinic, have an abortion and get her back to school, parents have no clue. If this girl has complications NO hospital or clinic can treat her without parental notification. Senators Feinstien and Boxer call this reproductive health, I call it child abuse and fraud. But then who pays for their reelection campaigns…Planned Parenthood(garbage in garbage out).

  2. I’m a Catholic and I oppose abortion… not because the church preached it but because I saw a video of a fetus moving and sucking its thumb and realized that they were human beings that God would love. When I was a teenager I thought it might be a good idea to allow abortions only because I didn’t want the personal responsibility of impregnating one of the many girls with which I had sex. My father used to say “good enough to touch, good enough to marry.” It was at the moment I saw a living, feeling human in the womb that I realized how stupid I had been and it had little to do with what the church had preached to me nor what my father tried to tell me. Today we know, without a shadow of a doubt, that little unborn babies are feeling human beings that are being socialized and learning while they’re waiting to be born. Abortion is murder, plain and simple. I don’t give a crap what the circumstances. Give birth to the baby and give him or her up for adoption if necessary but for crying out loud, please don’t kill that little baby. There’s someone out there that will care and love it. I was the 7th son and 10th child of a poor family that had to put me up for adoption. I am a twin, there were two of us and my biological father didn’t want “any more mouths to feed” but my mother convinced him not to abort us. I’m a cop that’s saved a lot of lives and my twin is in the medical field and has done the same. We have families and people that love us. We even have grandchildren now. If you are somebody out there that thinks Obama is great, charismatic, and is looking out for you as it applies to “the right to choose” I’ll tell you he is one of those lucky individuals that hasn’t had to make the personal choice nor seen the ramifications of what he is espousing. He’s like one of my teenage friends who agreed with me that abortion was something to be considered because it would relieve me of all responsibility of my personal behavior and it “felt good” but in reality was and is pretty evil.

Comments are closed.